Auntie and Nephew

“We have to make a special place that no one can get in, OKAY?”

“YEAH!” he yelled and he began to specifically place pillows and sheets in an order that only he would know how to do immediately.

“I will put the rope on the hook so that no one can see, and then hang up a sheet on it. Then, you will be in charge of decorating the pillow fort!” she smiled at him so that when he smiled back at her his dimples would show and that would make her very happy like nothing else could.

“Auntie?” he asked in pure wonder.

“Yes?” she responded pretending to have the same emotion, she really was just excited that he was so innocent and pure and excited.

“Do you think that I can make a real fort outside, today?” he simply asked.

Auntie frowned, “No. I don’t think that’s possible. I think it might rain. But with fortitude, and strong will, and a good memory, someday, you WILL make a fort outside. I’m sure of it. I just don’t think I’m the right person to help you with that… I’m sorry.”

He smiled,” Well I’m glad we can make this fort! IT WILL PROTECT US FROM THE RAIN!”

“YAY!” Auntie danced around and the fort came tumbling down and Auntie lay in the soft mess of cotton and silk.

With a very serious look on his face, Nephew pointed at Auntie and said, “You need to clean this up, right now!”

Leave a Reply

